GreenGeeks Review: Does It Live up to Its Promise?

GreenGeeks is one of the most environmentally-friendly options for web hosting, receiving numerous awards for their renewable energy commitment. But is their ‘Green” hosting any good?
8.6/10 (Expert Score)
Product is rated as #17 in category Web Host Reviews
Heads Up: Host Advisor is supported by our readers. When you purchase products through links on our site, we sometimes earn a commission. It comes at no extra cost for you. Learn more.

Quick Facts & Checklist

Updated January 2022

Speed448 ms (June 2021 to January 2022)
Uptime99.99% (June 2021 to January 2022)
FeaturesUnmetered bandwidth, Free Domain 1st Year, Free SSL Certificate, Free CDN, Free Nightly Backups, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
Hosting PlansShared, WordPress, VPS and Reseller Hosting
Support24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Email, Knowledge Base
PricingPlans start from £1.79 per month 

GreenGeeks Overview

What Is GreenGeeks?

GreenGeeks are the new kids on the block. Since 2008 GreenGeeks has been growing tremendously and is now considered a big player in the web hosting space.

GreenGeeks has been the industry’s leading eco-friendly green web hosting provider. They put back three times the power we consume into the grid in the form of renewable energy.

greengeeks review landing page image

In addition to this, for every amperage GreenGeeks pull from the grid, they also match three times that in the form of renewable energy via Bonneville Environmental Foundation. Your website will be on their 300% green hosting platform.

So as a customer or consumer, you can feel good that you’re helping make a difference by hosting on an eco-friendly platform.

Suppose you want to talk about the point of difference in web hosting platforms and providers. In that case, GreekGeeks have approached their market and audience with this same level of thinking in their unique approach.

GreenGeeks Hosting Options


GreekGeeks are a global-based workforce that provides web hosting to customers from over 150 countries.

They offer a specially engineered hosting platform that offers Shared, Reseller, VPS, and WordPress Hosting designed for the fastest, most secure and scalable hosting available.

They currently have data centers located in Chicago, Phoenix, Toronto, Montreal and Amsterdam. This isn’t great if you are a UK-based business, but depending on where your customers are based, this could be great.

They also advertise that they offer expert 24/7/365 support, a 99.9% uptime guarantee, and a 30-day money-back guarantee. So far, it is clear to say we are very impressed.

greengeeks enviromental statement

GreenGeeks is an eco-friendly green web hosting company

The GreenGeeks management team has over 40 years of experience in providing high-quality, affordable website hosting.

They claim that your account will use only the best of breed server hardware. They are using the most dependable network providers and the most up-to-date software programs available anywhere on the internet.

This comprehensive GreenGeeks review will go into exactly how well they’ve performed across their 12-year history. You will learn about what the company has to offer and how it keeps its plan prices low. Here’s an unbiased overview of what we found.

Are you looking to build your own website?

GreenGeeks website builder is powered by Weebly, which will give you everything you need to create a fabulous website with a few clicks of a button.

Speed & Reliability

So, How Fast Is GreenGeeks?

For the average business today the faster hosting is becoming more critical to hosting providers than ever. We all know, as far as websites go, speed is everything.

Fast page load times could be the difference between higher conversion rates and a better page ranking in search engine results.

A study from Google found that a one-second delay in mobile page load times can impact conversion rates by up to 20%. GreenGeeks advertise some fantastic results on our page test speed.

So, the big question – how fast IS GreenGeeks as a host?

GreenGeeks Speed Test

To offer an accurate review of GreenGeeks loading speed, we created a test site on their basic shared plan and monitored its performance using Uptime Robot.

From our research, the host’s server response time averages 448 milliseconds over the last six months, coming up in the middle range compared to its competitors. Pretty good.

Load Impact & Stress Test Results

As our test site doesn’t receive many visitors, the above loading time results don’t give the complete picture regarding the performance levels a live website might experience when hosted by GreenGeeks.

So, to provide more performance-related information, we also used the K6 service to simulate multiple visitors accessing our test site. K6 (formerly known as Load Impact) measures the response time of our site to see how well their server can handle an increasing number of virtual users.

We carried out a five-minute ‘stress’ test. The number of virtual users accessing the test site gradually increased from one to 50 to see how the server would handle increased requests from multiple connections at once.

greengeeks load impact

GreenGeeks K6 Stress Test Results

As you can see from our screenshot above, even when 50 virtual users (the grey line) were accessing the site simultaneously, the response time (the blue line) remained pretty stable.

There was a spike of around 50 virtual users, and the response averaged out at 418 milliseconds. Still, the server returned way too many errors.

This means is that if you have a small website, then GreenGeeks will work well for you. However, any traffic spikes will diminish your website performance.

Installing a WordPress caching plugin can help with this. However, if your web server is slow, caching will not make much of a difference.

GreenGeeks Hosting Uptime

Uptime is an excellent indicator of how reliable a host is and how well they can manage their servers. When assessing the uptime across GreenGeeks hosting platform, it was clear that this is a big part of their features.

For the last six months, our research shows a 99.99% uptime for GreenGeeks, which is impressive. As a result, it’s fair to assume that GreenGeeks knows what they’re doing when it comes to keeping their servers up and running.

GreenGeeks service guarantees’ are committed to providing 99.99% uptime or your money back. However, noted in the fine print, as usual, the guarantee doesn’t cover service interrupted from any client errors or any DDOS, internet or cyber attack.

This is fair enough, and it is still a great guarantee provided you follow those guidelines.

So you can rest easy knowing that if their server goes down (and it isn’t your fault), their uptime guarantee will at least offer some compensation.


Pricing & Plans

How Much Does GreenGeeks Cost?

GreenGeeks currently has three ‘plans’ or pricing structures available. The best part about this is that each plan is incredibly different to ensure the needs of their customers are met.

It ensures no matter where you are on your business journey. There is an option for a beginner right through to an advanced agency professional.

greengeeks pricing

Greengeeks Shared Hosting Plans

GreenGeeks Lite Shared Plan

Lite is best described as ‘perfect for small websites or blogs that are just getting started. This is currently at £1.79 per month. Included in this plan is the following top features:

  • One website
  • Unlimited Web Space
  • Unmetered Data Transfer
  • Free SSL Certificate
  • Free Domain Name for 1st Year
  • Free Nightly Backup
  • Free CDN
  • Unlimited Email Accounts
  • WordPress Installer/Updates
  • Unlimited Databases
  • Standard Performance
  • LSCache Included
  • 300% Green Energy Match
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

GreenGeeks Pro Shared Plan

Pro is best described as ‘great for growing websites that need more speed and resources.’ This is currently at £3.50 per month. Included in this plan is the following top features, which makes apparent steps to improve what was included in the lite plan radically:

  • Unlimited Websites
  • Unlimited Web Space
  • Unmetered Data Transfer
  • Free SSL Certificate
  • Free Domain Name for 1st Year
  • Free Nightly Backup
  • Free CDN
  • Unlimited Email Accounts
  • WordPress Installer/Updates
  • Unlimited Databases
  • 2 x Performance
  • LSCache Included
  • 300% Green Energy Match
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

GreenGeeks Premium Shared Plan

Premium is best described as ‘our small business plan is perfect for very busy websites or online stores.’ This is currently at £6.40 per month. Included in this plan is the following top features, which again provides excellent value as opposed to the lite and pro plan:

  • Unlimited Websites
  • Unlimited Web Space
  • Unmetered Data Transfer
  • Free SSL Certificate
  • Free Domain Name for 1st Year
  • Free Nightly Backup
  • Free CDN
  • Unlimited Email Accounts
  • WordPress Installer/Updates
  • Unlimited Databases
  • 4 x Performance
  • LSCache Included
  • 300% Green Energy Match
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

What is important to note across the three plans is that while their list of features can look impressive, make sure you select what is essential to your business.

For example, suppose you own multiple cafes and need to enable your customers to make reservations. In that case, we recommend the ‘Pro’ plan.

In this instance, you would need unlimited website features to have its web presence in each of your cafes.

However, if you run an accounting software-based business that was very ‘data-heavy,’ we’d recommend the ‘Premium’ plan. The inclusion of their premium SSL feature on this plan would be necessary for a business that relies on retaining sensitive customer data.

We wouldn’t take any risks with going for a less secure plan.

GreenGeeks vs. Competitors Prices

Host Provider
greengeeks brand logo
VS
hostinger brand logo
VS
a2hosting brand logo
Shared Hosting
WordPress Hosting
VPS Hosting

Help & Support

How Good Is GreenGeeks Support?

Customer support levels can be the difference between a good web provider and a very poor one. Something every business can’t go without, and GreenGeeks make some big promises in this space.

You can reach their support department 24/7/365 via email and Live Chat. They also offer phone support if you want to chat with a real person. This kind of customer service is honestly hard to come by.

greengeeks contact

GreenGeeks offers great support with plenty of resources to help

This is important for those new to web hosting providers. You can rest easy knowing that there is a person to speak with if everything is going wrong.

An independent research group put their live chat to the rest by speaking to their team at different times of the day. They found that no matter the time, GreenGeeks replied within 1-2 minutes.

Does expert help matter to you?

GreenGeeks have brilliant minds with years of experience available to assist you by chat, ticket or phone!

Features & Products

What Features & Services Do GreenGeeks Offer?

The internet industry consumes enormous amounts of energy. Not only is this already a problem for the environment, but this consumption is skyrocketing with more and more businesses and people going online.

The backbone of the internet is data centers that hold hundreds of large servers stacked on top of each other in racks.

As you can imagine, these servers consume a tremendous amount of energy. To ensure they do not fail, they are blasted with arctic temperature air every day.

GreenGeeks Shared Hosting Comparison Chart

Main FeaturesLiteProPremium
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimited
Storage50 GBUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Free Domain Name✔︎✔︎✔︎
Free SSL Certificate✔︎✔︎✔︎
Daily Backups✔︎✔︎✔︎
24/7 customer service✔︎✔︎✔︎
Money back guarantee✔︎✔︎✔︎

Shockingly, 40% of all of the energy used to power the internet keeps those servers from overheating. This is a real problem and one that GreenGeeks identified early on.

In 2012 there were 500,000 data centers worldwide. Today there are over 8 million data centers worldwide, with each year, the problem gets bigger and bigger. As we now know, the Internet is the fastest-growing carbon polluting industry.

300% Renewable Web Hosting

If you don’t believe me or struggle to understand what that is comparable to – data centers account for 2% of the world’s carbon emissions, the same as the airline industry.

In 2008, when GreekGeeks was founded, they committed to being the most eco-friendly green web hosting company in the World and highlighting this growing issue.

The United States Environmental Protection Agency has recognised GreenGeeks since 2009 as a Green Power Partner.

Are you looking for a greener alternative hosting plan?

If you care about the environmental impact you and your business creates, GreenGeeks is absolutely the web hosting provider for you!

Security & Protection

Is My Website Secure With GreenGeeks?

Security has been a clear focus for GreenGeeks. While they take many steps to prevent security issues, hacking and data leaks, as noted in the features section, the security levels change across the plans.

greengeeks security

GreenGeeks offer great security on all their packages

In terms of presentation GreekGeeks offer:

  • Your data is protected using SSL encryption technology, the industry standard.
  • They’re well versed in what needs to happen in the unlikely event of a data breach. In line with PIPEDA, GreenGeeks will notify all affected customers and the authorities within 72 hours. This is why 24/7 customer service is so beneficial to GreenGeeks.
  • You’re able to access your records as well as Right To Erasure.

Our recommendation would be if security is a concern to your business, choose the Premium plan.


Pros & Cons

What We Like & Dislike About GreenGeeks


What Are The Alternatives To GreenGeeks?

Hostinger Best Overall Cheap Host

Hostinger provides fast, stable and feature packed web hosting services for the best price!

Bluehost #2 Rated Cheap host

The most popular web host by far, offering great packages and amazing value for money!

A2 Hosting #3 cheap Hosting

A2 consistently delivers best in class speed, with great features and varied plans

DreamHost Great Customer Support

DreamHost offers quality and reliable services with lots of “unlimited” features.

iPage Great Features

Create and grow your dream site with an intuitive site builder & flexible hosting, at a price you’ll love.

Final Thoughts

Do We Recommend GreenGeeks?

If you’ve made it this far through the review, I am sure you could take a guess what our conclusion would be.

We genuinely love GreenGeeks.

After going through all their available features, terms and conditions and their history in the eco-friendly space, we thoroughly recommend this web hosting provider.

Ready to give GreenGeeks a try?

GreenGeeks has an unrivaled reputation for quality green energy web hosting with outstanding 24x7x365 support services at an affordable price. Head on over now!

Overall Score

Editor & User Ratings

8.6Expert Score
GreenGeeks Hosting

If you’re looking for a web host provider that utilises ‘green’ energy, then you’ve just found the right host!

Speed & Reliability
8
Pricing & Plans
9
Help & Support
8.9
Features & Products
8.8
Security & Protection
8.5

Author

  • simon jones profile 1

    Simon is a consultant who found his way into running a web business. His commitment to innovation and iteration (and his good humor) are present in all that we do. He is an experienced researcher, writer and editor and is the author behind much of what you read on Host Advisor.

Other Popular Reviews

Leave Your GreenGeeks Review
Please consider leaving a review below for other readers and share your experience about this product or service – positive or negative. However, we only accept individual and unique reviews that are informative and helpful to our readers.

Your review could help someone make an informed buying decision. Thanks!

By clicking the submit button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Host Advisor
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart